top of page

back

Welcome back to Art!

Welcome back to LP for what is sure to be an interesting year! I am so excited to be back in person with many of your children, but I miss all our virtual learners so much! I am, however, glad to be able to still connect with virtual learners on Schoology and SeeSaw. This is going to be an exceptionally long blog post so please bear with me - they will not always be this wordy but I have A LOT of important new information to share for the start of the year!
Please check out the other tabs on the top of this website including: About Miss Ryan, Artsonia, Display My Art Fundraiser and Resources.

 
ART ON A CART:

Art this year looks different in many ways, but the main one is that I am teaching "Art on a Cart". The purpose of this is so student cohorts are not having class in the same room throughout the day (The Art Room). I will be coming into each home room and teaching art there. I intend to teach the same projects and materials as a "normal" year as long as we can continue to have strong clean up and organizational routines.

 
COMMUNICATION:

I will be using Talking Points as my main form of communication for time sensitive information. Blog posts will be more about what is going on in our day to day. When there is a new blog post I will send an update on Talking Points. If you need to reach me about a question or concern, please feel free to email me or call the school. Because I am not in my room most of the day, email is a more efficient way to reach me.

 
VIRTUAL LEARNING:

I miss my virtual learners! I hope both kids and families are adjusting to the new way of learning. I will be posting new assignments weekly on the learning management systems for each grade:

SeeSaw for 3rd Grade


Schoology for 4th and 5th Grade


Typically your child would come to art twice in a 6 day cycle for 45 minutes each class, so it is expected that students are completing their art assignments at home on at least one day a week. I understand there is a lot to keep up with, however I do not want your child to fall behind when they return to school. Assignments will be on a different timeline than in-class learners, but I will try my best to give all students the opportunity to learn the same things this year. Please let me know if you have any questions or need help getting your child on their LMS to see art assignments.

 
ARTSONIA APP:

Artsonia is a digital portfolio platform for students to track their artistic growth by uploading pictures of finished artwork. We will be uploading every finished project to Artsonia.


Parents are encouraged to take part in their children's artistic process by creating a parent account. Parents can also buy products with any artwork their child creates and uploads to Artsonia. The art room gets a portion of the sales back as fundraiser money for more supplies.


Papers with sign on codes for parents will be coming home next week. Please check the ARTSONIA tab on the top of the page for more information.

 
DISPLAY MY ART FUNDRAISER

Instead of Square 1 Art this year we will be doing an identical fundraiser for the art program with the wonderful company "Display My Art". Children will create art in school and then we will send their art to a company who prints it on different products. Virtual learners will have the chance to complete art, as well as family members at home! Please check the tab above titled "Display My Art" for more information and timelines.

 
LP ART ROOM INSTAGRAM

We have an LP Art Room Instagram account that I post more frequent photos on! This is mostly for parents to see what we're doing day to day, and for art educator friends of mine to share project

ideas. If you are an Instagram user be sure to follow us @LPArtRoom. If your child does not have a photo release I will not post their photo. If you would prefer that I did not post a photo of your child on this account please send me an email at ashley_ryan@eastiron.monroe.edu.


 
What are the kids up to?!

Check my next post for what we've been up to the first month of school!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page