top of page

back

What a Busy Week!

I felt like I was running around like crazy this week starting new projects! I regret to inform you that I was so busy I did not have time to take any photos! Usually there is a point in each lesson where the class is super independent and I have a minute to snap some shots, but we started paper mache this week and it is something new for many students. Thinking on paper in 2d to build next week in 3d is a difficult skill to learn, but I have no doubt we will all be successful! So please enjoy reading out each grade's paper mache project below!

3rd Grade

I have two different paper mache projects going on in third grade, but they both revolve around food! The first project is "Food Memories". We talked about the word Nostalgia and how sometimes when we hear a certain song or eat a certain food it brings us back to a time in our lives and reminds us of a memory. Students wrote about a food that reminded them of a time in their life, and will be creating that food!

The other classes are creating paper mache ice cream cones! I told them I own an ice cream store (not really!) and am looking for new Ice Cream Flavor Creators! Students will use their new color mixing skills to paint the ice cream and create new and exciting flavors for my store!

4th Grade

Fourth graders are creating paper mache monsters! We read the book Leonardo the Terrible Monster about a monster who was told he had to be scary, but just couldn't be. We talked about what stereotypes are and that it's important to break stereotypes, especially if it is at the expense of making someone feel bad. We discovered Leonardo didn't need to be scary just because everyone thought he should be, but that he could be kind and be a good friend. So 4th graders are creating monsters that defy stereotypes and are creating silly monsters with big personalities for our Monster world! Check out my Monsters I've made in the past, Giggles and Wiggles!

5th Grade

Fifth graders are making paper mache animals inspired by Alebrijes, or Mexican Spirit Animals, featured in the movie Coco! They brainstormed their own character traits and have chosen an animal that shares the same traits! We watched a video of people in Oaxaca, Mexico creating real Alebrijes and students loved watching them carve wood animals and paint intricate details! We will begin creating ours in paper mache next week!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page